Fanny Howe

ISBN: 978-0-942996-42-5
$10.00 • 40 pp. • 1999

Purchase from Small Press Distribution

“Howe fuses the tactics and strategems of what might be called ‘traditional’ Language poetry with a radical, unembarrassed confidence in her lyric self—even as she lets her poems tailspin out of her hands—and this fusion perplexes a critical industry that insists on honoring the presumed incompatability of these modes.”
Geoffrey Treacle for Chicago Review # 49:1 Spring 2003

Scott Bentley for Jacket 25, February 2004

Fanny Howe, born 1940 in Boston, Massachusetts, is the author of more than 20 books of poetry and prose.  Recent poetry books include, On the GroundGoneSelected Poems ForgedQOne Crossed OutO’Clock and The End.  Her prose works include Lives of the Spirit/Glasstown: Where Something Got Broken and The Wedding Dress: Meditations on Word and Life, a collection of essays. Howe is the recipient of the 2001 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, the 2005 Griffin Poetry Prize and the 2009 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize She is currently a professor emeritus of Writing and Literature at the University of California, San Diego.